Newark-based boxer Adam Kettleborough starts out on the road to the British title

Posted: January 31, 2012 in Interviews

Adam Kettleborough

Talk is cheap in the brutal sport of boxing and Adam Kettleborough is the walking definition of winner.

Two wins from two in the amateur ranks and seven victories from seven in white collar boxing and it is no wonder the nimble Newark fighter is oozing confidence ahead of his eagerly-anticipated professional debut in April, writes Mark Williams.

While the name of his opponent has yet to be confirmed, Kettleborough insists that does not matter as he aims to launch his career with an eye-catching win.

“I can’t wait for my first fight now,” says the 25-year-old light-welterweight. “I’ve just got back in the gym following a bit of a break over the Christmas period and I’m ready for whatever challenge comes my way.”

Kettleborough, who fights under the management of Carl Greaves, trains daily at Arena Fitness in Newark and is member of the same stable as solid Lincoln journeyman Ryan Clark – someone from whom Kettleborough insists he has learnt a great deal.

“It’s a good group to be honest,” he says. “Ryan is such a tough guy. He is not intimidated by anyone and he just gets in there and has a fight.

“Carl is brilliant as well. He has got me doing things differently on the pads from when I was an amateur and I think things will go well for me.

“My dream is to one day lift that British Lonsdale belt and I believe I have the ability to do that. Carl literally asked me down to do a bit of training with him and I wanted to see how it went.

“He said I was better than he thought I was going to be and persuaded me to go professional. It’s a really exciting time in my life and I’m going to give it everything.

“I’m not the sort of person to turn down an opportunity and I will never turn down a fight.”

Also inspiring Kettleborough is his fiancée – and also his 21-month-year-old son Ethan. The three live together and Kettleborough is determined to transform their lives with a successful career.

“They both spur me on and I just want to give them a better life to be honest,” he says. “They both mean a lot to me. There are lots of renowned fighters out there who have had young kids during their careers.”

A huge fan of WBA Inter-Continental champion Kell Brook, at five feet 8 inches, Kettleborough believes his “attacking, come forward” style will also emulate that of former world super-middleweight champion Nigel Benn.

“I totally loved watching the Dark Destroyer,” adds Kettleborough. “He is definitely one of my favourite all-time fighters because of his never-say-die attitude and the way he threw body punches. That’s how I want to fight.”

Kettleborough first stepped inside a gym aged 14 and, like most professional fighters, soon became hooked. Below the average height at school, Kettleborough was desperate to learn how to defend for himself.

He made his amateur debut in 2006 and dismantled his opponent in a convincing stoppage triumph before going on to double his winning tally.

Following a lengthy break from the sport, Kettleborough kick-started his career when he began the white collar boxing. But a perfect start of seven straight wins was halted when he again decided to take a break from the sport to concentrate on bringing up his son.

However, the super-fast boxer insists the good times are here to stay this time.

“I feel good with my son and girlfriend,” he adds. “I believe I can do well. I have been working so hard in the gym in terms of resistance and cardio in recent weeks that I know I’m in good shape. I would love to be British champion one day – that has to be the goal for me.”

Leave a Reply

