Newmarket boxer Pat McAleese close to retiring from boxing

Posted: February 20, 2012 in Interviews

Pat McAleese

Popular fighter Pat McAleese has revealed he is considering retirement from boxing.

The 25-year-old light-middleweight is always a sell-out attraction in his hometown of Newmarket – but McAleese insists it may be time to bring the curtain down on an entertaining professional career.

McAleese hasn’t fought since July of last year when he was dismantled by Ryan Toms in four painful rounds at Wembley Arena.

Seven months into a year out from the sport, the orthodox boxer admits he is struggling to regain that ‘fire in his belly’ and has already pulled out of a potential fight in Peterborough next month.

“I’ve got to be honest with myself and I’m just loving life for what it is at the moment,” said McAleese, who has won 12 and drawn one of 15 fights in the pro ranks. “I’m working nearly every minute of the day after setting up a personal training business. I have 45 clients most weeks and it’s paying well.

“It was getting to the stage where I was losing money to box. Do I miss boxing? A little I suppose. But I just can’t dedicate myself 100 per cent to the training.

“In boxing and especially the level I have got to, you need to have that fire in your belly otherwise you’re going to get hurt.”

McAleese, who will marry his long term girlfriend Rebecca Avis in May, also revealed how his career has been curtailed by a troublesome eye injury.

It is believed the problem was sustained during his southern area title fight with Toms.

“It’s my left eye and things go blurry,” continued McAleese. “I get double vision when I lie down. Obviously because of that I have had to seriously consider retiring.”

McAleese is a firm favourite among boxing fans across the country. His aggressive, attacking style impresses most crowds.

On his hometown debut at Tattersalls in 2009 “Macca” sold out all 900 tickets in under four days ahead of his fight with Darren Gethin.

“It will be hard for me to officially retire because the fans keep asking me when I’m going to get back in the ring. They have been brilliant to me throughout my career.

“But my health has to come first and I’m quite happy with my life at the moment.

“I knew I was going to lose my last fight. I just had that feeling. I felt I could beat that opponent but things weren’t right in my private life and you can’t afford those distractions in boxing.”

Comments
  1. David Payne says:

    Pat is a nice guy, and a real trier in the ring. It was a great night, the night I covered him at Tattersalls. I wish him and his soon to be missus all the best. Steady on the take-aways Pat.

    And hopefully see you at the charity football again this year.

Leave a Reply

