Rendall Munroe wants victory over Scott Quigg to propel him to another world title shot

Posted: March 4, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

Rendall Munroe has promised to prove himself as the best in Great Britain before eyeing a second crack at a world title.

The 31-year-old super-bantamweight is expected to challenge unbeaten British champion Scott Quigg within the next few months.

Despite having already held English, Commonwealth and European belts during a glittering career, Munroe believes winning the coveted British crown will enhance his chances of landing another world title fight.

“People might think this fight is a step back for me but I want to prove I’m the best around,” said Munroe, who has recently gone full-time.

“I want to progress and move forward all the time. Scott Quigg is a tough fighter, but I feel I’m the best in Britain at this level.”

The WBA International champion battled admirably against WBC super bantamweight king Toshiaki Nishioka in Japan little over two years ago and, three fights and three wins later, is desperate for another shot at being the best on the planet.

“I went to Japan and gave my all,” continued Munroe. “I knew after about the fifth round that I wasn’t going to win the fight but I was determined not to get stopped and I didn’t.

“I am a hard trainer and never blow up in weight when I’m not preparing for a fight. This is why I feel I can win a world title some day. I turn 32 later this year but I’m learning all the time – getting better and better.

“I don’t drink, I don’t smoke. The only area I let myself down in is when I fancy a nibble on a biscuit. And I love my Caribbean food!”

Not only is Munroe known as the “Boxing Binman” but also as one of the nicest men in the sport.

After David Haye and Derick Chisora tarnished further the reputation of British boxing last month, Munroe insists he will never change his mild-mannered approach.

“Even my coach says I’m too nice sometimes, but why should I change? That’s just me,” said Munroe.

“I’m not the person to say I’m going to do this or I’m going to do that. I do my talking and prove my point in the ring – that’s how it should be.

“I respect every fighter I face because you have to have heart to step inside the ring. I just want to be known as a nice, respectable fighter who gives everything in the ring. If I win a world title in the process then that would be a dream come true.

“David Haye talked the talk against Wladimir Klitschko but didn’t back it up in the ring. Sometimes you can say things and then look a fool.

“I am privileged to be a professional boxer and I treat the sport and its fighters with respect.”

The Leicester fighter, who has won 24 of his 26 pro fights, is targeting another world title shot as soon as possible – so long as he can overcome Quigg.

“I just want to get back in there and get my hands on a world title belt. It means everything to me. I have a great girlfriend (Annaelisha) and two great sons (Tiela and Tierell) and I want to do it for them.

“I also want to do it for my fans who have been absolutely incredible throughout my career. I had more than 200 make the trip to Japan two years ago – that’s the other side of the world. It’s hardly a trip to Skegness is it?

“Even in my last fight (first round technical knockout win against Jose Saez on February 4) I had 40 odd fans who made the trip to Bolton through all the snow. They only had two minutes of action to watch and then they were on their way home again. It took them five hours to get home because of the bad weather.

“It’s the fans who have made me and that’s why I am the person I am. I feel humbled when I get any kind of attention. I want to win that world title for them as much as myself.”

Leave a Reply

