Shane McPhilbin wants to shock the world in career-high fight against Enzo Maccarinelli

Posted: March 5, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

STRANGERS recognise him in the street, his friends have begun to call him “Rocky” and he’s defending his British championship against a former world titlist later this month.

Could life get any better for Shane McPhilbin?

The likeable 26-year-old (8-2), whose incredible final-round TKO win against Leon Williams propelled him to a cruiserweight title defence against Enzo Maccarinelli in Wolverhampton on March 23, could, of course, see all of his dreams disappear into the dust.

But why should McPhilbin even care? He’s preparing for the biggest fight of his career amid an unprecedented amount of interest. And he’s unfussed by the underdog tag, preferring instead to use it to his advantage.

“Only a few years ago I would have never thought I’d be standing in a ring with Enzo Maccarinelli – now, he’s coming after my title,” said McPhilbin.

“Since the Williams fight everywhere has been mental. Everyone will recognise me now and ask me about the fight. I look at them and think ‘who are you?’, people who don’t know me say ‘I hope you beat him’.

“I keep getting called Rocky all the time now, my life has actually changed a lot at the moment – I’m everyone’s best mate. It’s a good feeling.

“It’s the biggest fight of my life against one of my favourite boxers of all time and, although I am the champion, I have got nothing to lose. I’ll love the experience and I’ll enjoy it.”

There are likely to be few cross words ahead of the unlikely title fight, with former WBO Cruiserweight boss Maccarinelli focussed on re-building his career ahead of a mouth-watering potential all-Wales clash against Nathan Cleverly, the current WBO light-heavyweight titlist.

But while the Swansea fighter’s respectful approach ahead of the pair’s meeting has drawn effusive praise from McPhilbin, the Nottinghamshire man is keen to point out that any Maccarinelli loss would crush hopes of a comeback to the world level.

“Just the way Enzo goes about his business impresses me. He’s not cocky or arrogant, he does his training the right way and he’s an all-round fighter – he has plenty of skills,” said McPhilbin, managed by Newark-based promoter Carl Greaves.

“He seems like a genuine guy; I’ve heard him mentioning me in interviews and not once has he slated me.

“I know for sure that Maccarinelli wants to Cleverly but I know he will take our fight seriously. At one point Enzo was on top of the world; he’s had a few knock backs that he didn’t expect to get and he knows this is his last chance now.

“He wants to get back to world level but he knows he can get knocked back by me.

“I know people have been talking quite a bit about Maccarinelli fighting Nathan Cleverley but I just let them get on with it.

“If those people are looking past this fight and looking past me then ultimately it will be their downfall.

“I’ll go back onto the websites or read the papers to read what they say. A lot of them will change their tune after my fights. Before the Williams fight a lot of people had me knocked out before I’d even got to the ring.

“I’ll go out there against Maccarinelli to enjoy myself – I love people talking down about me because I love shocking people.

“I’m going to try to make it a war and give it all I’ve got.”

Comments
  1. Peter Cooke says:

    No matter what happens Shane you are still the man mate.

Leave a Reply

