Jamie Speight targets Ben Jones and Liam Walsh after claiming southern area super-featherweight title

Posted: March 8, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

NEW southern area champion Jamie Speight has fired out a warning shot to the super-featherweight division: I’m coming after your titles.

Speight claimed the second belt of his career with a 97-95 points victory against Scott Moises on Saturday, and has put Britain’s foremost fighters on red alert.

English champion Ben Jones – who slipped to a painful TKO loss to Stephen Smith at The Troxy the night before Speight’s victory – is top of his list, but Commonwealth champion Liam Walsh remains on the Kingsteington man’s radar.

“After the fight, Moises’ camp asked for a rematch but for me that’s a sidestep or a step downwards,” said Speight, who claimed the International Masters light-welterweight title in 2010.

“I want an English title fight against Ben Jones or an English title eliminator. Liam Walsh is also out there, I’d love to fight him or maybe Gary Sykes, but I’ve told me manager (Jonathan Hope) that I’m willing to fight anybody.

“If it was up to me I would be back in a 10-week training programme now. Whatever happens, I want to be in 12-round contests – I don’t need to be dropping any lower than that.”

The 10-round contest against Moises at Plymouth’s Guildhall was a fiercely-fought affair, with Speight attempting to get inside the Aylsham man’s 6ft frame to land punishing body shots.

Although Moises and his team thought they had done enough for victory in the headlining event, Speight contends his opponent won only the opening two rounds.

“After that I loosened up,” said 23-year-old Speight, who moves to 11-2 with the victory, while Moises, 24, drops to 3-5.

“I left my hands low to draw the lead, picked my counters and landed body shots. Scott just wanted to keep it long, but after I caught him to the body it was easy for me. He definitely didn’t want to come close after that.

“After the fight I could see a lot of reddening on his ribs and had swelling under both eyes. I give him lots of credit because he came to win and came to fight, but 97-95 was just too close.

“It feels great to get a title again after the loss to Kev Hooper, and it’s all sbecause of my friends, family and my sponsor Steve Horn, who travelled down from Middlesbrough to support me.”

Leave a Reply

