Rendall Munroe: I have a point to prove against Scott Quigg

Posted: March 18, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

Challenger Rendall Munroe is champing at the bit ahead of his eagerly-anticipated British title fight against Scott Quigg later this year.

The two super-bantamweights are expected to battle it out in early June after the bout was made earlier this month.

Unbeaten champion Quigg (24-0) has caught the eye in recent fights and has been labelled as one for the future by many boxing fans.

But former world title challenger Munroe (24-2) is brimming with confidence ahead of training camp.

“I don’t disrespect any man who steps inside a ring but I honestly can’t see anything that Quigg has to offer that will be good enough to beat me,” said the 31-year-old.

“I am 110 per cent confident ahead of the fight. I expect it will be in early June and staged up north somewhere but none of those things really bother me because I will be ready.

“I guess people will say Quigg has youth on his side but I don’t look or fight like I’m approaching 32. I would challenge any 18-year-old to come and train with me because I eat and live right and put absolutely everything in when in the gym.”

Number one in the British rankings, Munroe is keen to continue to do what he has done throughout his career – prove a point.

“I’m number one in Britain but now want the British title around my waist. It’s all about proving a point for me. I love it. It motivates me.

“After that I want another chance at the world crown. I’ve got one opportunity in life and, as my dad always told me, I have to make the most of it. I aim to do that.”

Leave a Reply

