Sam Sexton: ‘Maybe Tyson Fury was scared he couldn’t beat David Price’

Posted: March 22, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

ALTHOUGH Sam Sexton is due to face one giant of the ring, his attention seems to have been drawn to another.

Sexton competes for the British heavyweight title against unbeaten David Price in less than two months’ time, a fight made after previous champion Tyson Fury vacated the championship.

And while the Liverpool boxer is in Sexton’s immediate sights for their May 19 showdown at Aintree Equestrian Centre, he’s reserved a few special words for the 6ft 9ins Fury – whose next fight is against Northern Irishman Martin Rogan, an opponent Sexton has defeated twice before.

“I cannot see why he would give up his titles to fight for an Irish title. Maybe he was scared that he couldn’t beat David Price,” said Sexton, whose only two losses in a 17-fight career have come against Fury victim Dereck Chisora, once in 2010 for the British title.

“Fury has not really fought anyone except Chisora but everyone knows that it wasn’t the same Chisora who fought me or Vitali Klitschko. I don’t know what was going on in Chisora’s head at the time.

“He’s had a couple of tough fights against people who shouldn’t have troubled him, so I don’t think (promoter) Mick Hennessey is too confident sin putting his fighter in against someone who will beat him. I don’t know why he didn’t take the Price fight. Maybe it’s politics.”

While Fury pursues his goals through a television deal with Channel 5, an opportunity has opened up for Norwich-based Sexton to catapult his career onto the next level with a title victory on the Frank Maloney-promoted show.

With home-city advantage and a perfect 12-0 record, Price will be expected to see off the gutsy threat of Sexton and continue his ascent towards the upper echelons of the heavyweight division.

But those expectations merely fuel the Norfolk man’s desire to defy the bookmakers’ odds.

“I wouldn’t say he’s been over-hyped, but he’s not fought anyone as a professional,” says Sexton.

“Everyone will say I need to worry about his size but he needs to worry about my movement. He’s not been in with anyone who can move as well as me or who is as quick as me.

“He is the favourite with the bookies but this is a fight I feel comfortable with. I went to Northern Ireland (against Martin Rogan) as a massive underdog. This fight won’t phase me.

“Whoever they want me to fight, I’ll fight. I want the British title and then I want to keep it. I like David Price but I will take more pleasure winning because I am expected to lose.”

Leave a Reply

