Mickey Coveney says he will fight Michael Walsh at York Hall on April 12

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

WEST HAM boxer Mickey Coveney is set to test the unbeaten record of Michael Walsh at York Hall on April 12.

Coveney, who dropped a unanimous eight-round points decision to Frenchman Daouda Sow on the undercard of Gavin Rees’ successful European lightweight title defence in Paris on Friday, has recently switched to Carl Greaves’ management and says the change has yielded benefits.

“I’m ready to fight,” said Coveney, whose record is 13-14 and will match up against the 8-0 super-bantamweight Walsh.

“I know Michael and his brothers, Ryan and Liam, well but at the end of the day it’s business. Michael is a good fighter and I’m happy to be on the show.

“I was getting to the point in my career where I was not boxing enough and I needed to do something. It seemed that even if I won a few fights, people weren’t interested – promoters would look at me, realise that I would come to fight and not want to throw their guys in at the deep end.

“Carl has got me two fights already (Sow and Walsh) so I’m happy with that. Me and my cousin run a painting business but since the start of the year we’ve had lots of jobs cancelled – which is another reason I wanted to get more fights.”

Although Coveney conceded that Sow was the better man in their eight-round contest at Gymnase Georges Racine, missing out on points 80-73, 79-73, 79-73, he felt he finished strongly.

“He wasn’t the best guy I’ve ever boxed, but he wasn’t bad,” said Coveney. “I had a good last round and hit him with a good shot but the decision was about right, to be honest.

Leave a Reply

