‘Scratching my arse could cost me a world title fight’ says Liam Walsh

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Commonwealth champion Liam Walsh has conceded: “Scratching my head and arse could cost me a world title fight.”

Cromer’s likeable super-featherweight has not fought since a successful title defence against Paul Appleby in September – which many critics labelled the domestic fight of the year – and is desperate to put his hours upon hours in the gym to maximum use in the ring.

However, the Frank Warren fighter, who is one of Britain’s hottest prospects after claiming 12 victories from his opening 12 professional bouts, has been waiting on his next contest.

“I am going through a really frustrating time,” said Walsh. “I am 25 years of age and I need to be fighting as often as I can. At the moment I’m fighting every six months if I’m lucky.

“I have dreams of going on to become a European and one day world champion, but sitting around scratching my head and arse could cost me that.”

Walsh catapulted himself into the limelight after convincingly defeating Maxwell Awuku for what was a vacant commonwealth crown in October, 2010 – a coveted title he has since successfully defended twice against tough opponents.

“I took that Commonwealth title fight on three weeks’ notice,” continued Walsh. “I make sure I’m always in perfect shape for opportunities like that.

“You never know when a chance is going to come your way and I probably surprised a few by doing what I did.

“I need regular fights, even if they’re just eight-rounders. I need to keep busy otherwise my career could stagnate.

“I have a lot to offer and I want to be the best I can be.”

Walsh, who has a stunning 75 per cent knockout ratio, also hopes to seal a dream fight in his home county of Norfolk.

“I have a decent fan base and I would love to fight just down the road in Norwich,” he added. “I know I could sell tickets and that’s how money is made. Of course it’s not all about money but when you’re a professional it is still important. It’s only when you get to the very top when you start making real money in this sport.”

Leave a Reply

