Kieran Farrell wants English super-featherweight title shot in September

Posted: March 29, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

Kieran Farrell, right, has signed with David Coldwell

NEW Coldwell Boxing recruit “Vicious” Kieran Farrell says he’s not interested in battling for area honours and instead wants an English title shot in the autumn.

The lightweight penned a deal this week and has bouts lined up on May 11th in Birmingham and June 16 in Bolton.

The 21-year-old from Lancashire says he will eventually drop down to super-featherweight and knock on the door of domestic champions.

“At Central Area level you’re looking at journeyman fighters, and I don’t want to be facing them,” said Farrell (11-0).

“It could be Ben Jones (the current English champion) but there are a few other fights I’d like in time. British champion Gary Buckland is the man at the moment but, for me, Steven Foster is number one in the division. There’s Liam Walsh as well, but he’s suspect, he’s had a few hard fights.

“Dave Coldwell wants me to move down to super featherweight but I’d already chatted to my dad, brother and Leonard Gunning (from Boxing-Ireland.com) who had all suggested it. At 9st 4lbs, no one will be able to touch me.”

Gunning put Farrell in touch with his new promoter, after the fighter had parted ways with Hatton Promotions.

The Heywood boxer predicts a bright future under the Coldwell banner and said inactivity was one of the reasons he is no longer in the Hatton stable.

“Dave has put me on two shows already and they were the two I asked for, a six rounder and an eight-rounder” he added.

“I had previously signed with Hatton because I was starstruck, Ricky was my idol and I couldn’t have turned that down. I was meant to be fighting for a Central Area light-welterweight title at the start of the month, two opponents pulled out (including Jon Baguley) and then I refused to take a six-rounder. It was a big disappointment for me, because I have been fighting for titles every year of my career.

“I feel comfortable dropping down to 9st 4lbs and once I’ve won these next two fights, which are tune-ups, I’ll be looking to win national titles.

“I don’t mind who it is, I’ll fight whoever Dave puts in front of me.”

Leave a Reply

