Jamie Speight insists heavy body punching will be too much for Ben Jones

Posted: April 20, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Jamie Speight.

JAMIE SPEIGHT believes his vicious body punching and durability will be far too much for Ben Jones when the two meet later this month.

The Kingsteignton boxer opposes Jones for the vacant

IBO International lightweight title in Hove on Saturday, April 28, his third successive championship bout.

Fresh off a points victory against Norfolk’s Scott Moises for the southern area super-featherweight title in March – and having lost to Kev Hooper for the British Masters lightweight title previously – Speight insists he has far too much skill for his Crawley-based opponent (12-3) who was dispatched inside a round by Stephen Smith in his most recent contest.

“He’s a good kid, a very basic boxer and he likes to come forward and walk you down,” said Speight (11-2).

“When he lets his hands go he has very fast hands,  but I have far superior skills and I know I’ve ten rounds of movement in me.

“I’ve been dropping people in sparring with my body shots. I’m dropping it in and they’re going ‘oh fuck!’ And at the end of the Moises fight, he was almost black and blue from those body shots.

“After beating Moises I could have quite easily settled for boxing a few journeymen, beat a few people up to stay busy. But I don’t believe that would been progress.

“You look at someone like Tyrone Nurse who has a record of 22-1. It looks like a good record but he lost to someone who is only an all right kid (Adil Anwar) but not British class (in the Prizefighter final). I don’t see what you get by fighting 22 nuggets.”

Speight is set to join up with Vaughan Boxing following the bout – which is to be contested at a catch weight of 9st 7lbs – and says he will relocate from his Devon base.

“I’m going to move up there and get my head down, leave Devon behind,” said Speight. “I’ll sit down with them, see what they have to say, and we can go from there. I’m just lucky that Steve Horn (Tees Rail and Tess Infrastructure) helps me to be a professional boxer.”

Leave a Reply

