Bradley Skeete learns to work inside with Lee Purdy ahead of latest bout at Royal Albert Hall

Posted: April 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

Bradley Skeete.

UNDEFEATED prospect Bradley Skeete has put in the hard rounds with English welterweight champion Lee Purdy ahead of his next bout at the Royal Albert Hall.

Penge-based Skeete (7-0) returns on the undercard of what was supposed to be Nathan Cleverley’s latest defence of his WBO light-heavyweight title defence against Robin Krasniqi.

But while the Welshman subsequently pulled out with a viral infection, the card will go ahead – and that means Skeete can put his ever-growing armoury of styles to good effect, this time against fellow unbeaten fighter Ross Payne, of Crawley.

“I don’t know much about him, but it’s another chance to show what I can do,” said Skeete, 24.

“I’ve been in the gym as usual, going through the gears and going through my combinations.  In my last fight (against Laszlo Komjathi, w pts 8) I injured my left hand and I was disappointed I didn’t get him out of there, but it was good to get another eight rounds under my belt.

“I feel fit and sharp, especially as I’ve done some quality sparring with Lee Purdy, and also John and Danny Dignum.

“When I sparred with Lee Purdy, he didn’t leave me alone because that is what he’s like. I couldn’t jab, move and jab normally because he kept picking and poking away. I had to give some and take some but I loved going to work at close range.”

Skeete hopes this bout will be followed by a southern area welterweight title shot against new champion Chas Symonds. He was ringside at Coronet Theatre, Elephant & Castle on April 20 to watch Symonds defeat Darryl Still for the vacant championship – and was not impressed.

“Chas won but, no disrespect to him, his is a belt I can take,” added Skeete, known as “Super”.

“I told (manager) Dean Powell that I could beat this guy. He said he was going to get it sorted so hopefully after Payne I can take that title.”

Leave a Reply

