Shane McPhilbin: I’m going to break Enzo Maccarinelli’s heart this time

Posted: April 23, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

Shane McPhilbin lost a highly controversial first fight to Enzo Maccarinelli.

Shane McPhilbin has promised to rip Enzo Maccarinelli’s heart out ahead of their eagerly-anticipated rematch later this year.

The bruising cruiserweight surrendered his British title to the Welshman under controversial circumstances in March and has now vowed to put the record straight.

After flooring Maccarinelli in the first, and with the former world champion reeling, the bell was rung for the end of the round 47 seconds before it should have been – arguably robbing the Nottinghamshire fighter’s of a famous victory.

Depite going down again, Maccarinelli’s superior conditioning saw him run out winner on points following a unanimous decision.

But when the two collide for a second time in Wolverhampton on June 22, McPhilbin and his growing army of fans, insists he will regain his crown.

“I want to rip his heart out,” McPhilbin told LincBoxing. “Before our last fight I was just happy with giving it my best shot. Now, I know I can win.

“I have a totally different feeling about this. What I realised in our last fight is that I can hit him with some big shots and that I can drop him.

“I nearly broke his heart last time and I aim to do it properly this time.

“I’m looking to blow him out early and get my belt back for me, trainer Carl Greaves, and all my fans.”

While doubts remain over Maccarinelli’s future in the sport, a ninth career win for McPhilbin could propel the popular boxer to much bigger things.

“I’ve just started training again and I’ll be ready,” added McPhilbin, who boasts almost a 50 per cent knock out success rate.

“I’m sure Enzo will come back stronger but so will I. I am determined to win this fight and move on to bigger and better things.

“Despite that defeat in March, the performance has done my confidence the world of good. I can’t wait to get stuck into him.”

Comments
  1. keith brown says:

    You sure will Shane, watch the crafty bugger, very experienced boxer, give him the ali shuffle lol GL..

Leave a Reply

