Scott Moises prepares with Walsh brothers for John Quigley fight

Posted: April 28, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

SCOTT Moises has been sparring the Walsh brothers in preparation for his next fight – and there are plenty of reasons why this most routine of boxing practices is of such importance to him.

The 24-year-old (3-5) tackles John Quigley on the undercard of David Price’s heavyweight clash against Sam Sexton on May 19, at Aintree Racecourse in Liverpool.

Helping him prepare for the Liverpool southpaw are the Cromer-based lefty trio of Liam, Michael and Ryan Walsh.

But the very opportunity to step through the ropes is of great importance for Moises, who battled leukaemia during his teenage years.

Between the ages of 15 and 20, the Aylsham super-featherweight had to put his dreams on hold. Never backing down, Tte driving force throughout that whole period was a desire to get back in the ring.

“I was dead set on getting back into boxing. That was the only thing that kept me going,” said Moises, who now trains at Graham Everett’s Norwich gym.

“I had to stop from the age of 15 until 20 but when I could, I would still go down the gym and help to coach. Once I’d had the worst of the chemotherapy, I went down and trained when I could.

“It was a bit difficult when everyone else just carried on with their boxing. But I was determined to get through it.

“When I eventually came back, all the boys took it really light on me – except my younger brother, Stuart! And it was still a while before they went at it hard with me again.”

Moises is now very much in the thick of things, with the bout against Quigley (6-0) foremost in his mind.

“Quigley is a slippery southpaw, a bit cocky, but I’ve been working with the Walsh brothers who are all southpaws.  They are always giving me tips and advice, it’s really good,” said Moises, who is one of the tallest boxers in the division at 6ft.

“I’m looking forward to it. If I win then I can get back in the running again. I know that Quigley is a fast boxer but I’ve just got to keep him back with my jab.

“I’ve definitely improved since the Jamie Speight fight (10-round points defeat for the southern area super-featherweight title) – I feel physically stronger and fitter.  I’m not leaning back on the ropes so much, I’m concentrating on using my jab more.

“Against Speight I thought I lost a couple of rounds at most. It was a good fight with quite a few close rounds.

“I’m just trying to get a few wins under my belt. Hopefully I’ll get another title shot or a re-match with Jamie Speight.”

Leave a Reply

