Kev Hooper eases to 12-0 following “easy” victory against Mark Bett

Posted: April 29, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Kev Hooper

Lightweight Kevin Hooper stretched his perfect start to 12 following a sparkling display against Mark Bett on Friday evening.

The 28-year-old dismantled his opponent over the opening two rounds in Barnsley – forcing Bett to quit on his stool seconds before the start of the third.

Hooper told Lincboxing how he cut a frustrated figure at the end of the fight but admitted Bett’s decision saved him from being knocked out later in the contest.

“He was complaining of a hand injury which was strange because I don’t remember him hitting me if I’m honest.

“I was determined to knock him out but he took that chance away from me. Even the referee told me not to worry because Bett was ready to be knocked out in the next.

“It was easy. He was easy to hit and I missed with very few punches. At the end of the day all you can do is beat the boxer in front of you and I did that with ease.”

The International Masters champion praised his 50-strong following from Grimsby and said the atmosphere overall inspired him to an impressive performance.

“The atmosphere was really good and my supporters were brilliant as always,” continued Hooper. “There was a bit of crowd trouble at the end of the night which was a shame.

“You get that at boxing sometimes. I was a spectator at the Kell Brook and Matthew Hatton fight in Sheffield last month and there were a number of outbreaks in the arena.

“But overall the atmosphere was really good.”

Now, ‘Super’ is expected to land a British Midlands Area title shot in October – against the winner of Amir Unsworth and Jamie Spencer on May 19.

“That’s the next title I want around my waist. Then I hope to look at an English title after that. For me, it’s about climbing the ladder at a steady pace.

“Away from boxing, I’m getting married in Greece, in August. I hope to get one my fight in before then to keep me ticking over.

“I’m enjoying my boxing and I just want to keep improving.”

Leave a Reply

