Billy Morgan hints at appearance on June show as he waits patiently for next fight

Posted: May 1, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

BILLY Morgan is searching for some “light at the end of the tunnel” as he waits in hope of notching a seventh successive victory.

The Canning Town-born lightweight last stepped inside the ring for a competitive bout on February 10, securing a six-round points victory over Dan Naylor at York Hall.

Since then, the 22-year-old has been patient, waiting for an opportunity to stretch his unbeaten run and, more importantly, gain valuable experience.

But while Morgan has retained his disciplined gym habits with trainer Mark Tibbs, the frustration is showing for the Frank Warren-promoted boxer – although recent rumblings from the Warren camp have given him cause for optimism.

“I’ve been told that hopefully there will be a show in June that I’ll be on,” said Morgan.

“I don’t know who’s headlining or the location – although I believe it’s in London – but, until that date is fixed, I don’t want to say too much or I’ll jinx it.

“It’s very frustrating. I’m trying to be patient, because I want to fight and show the fans my improvement.

“What’s happening now is that we’re doing little sparring camps, where we train, then a week’s sparring, then training again. It’s not the same as the real thing, though, it’s like an exhibition.

“But I’ve been in the gym since I was a kid and it’s a routine. If I’m not in the gym then something is missing for me.”

Morgan insists Billy-Joe Saunders’ recent Royal Albert Hall headlining victory in claiming the Commonwealth middleweight title can be only positive news. Saunders’ clash against Tony Hill was the main event after Nathan Cleverly was forced to withdraw from his world championship bout with Robin Krasniqi.

“Hopefully that means he (Saunders) can headline a few more shows by himself and there are more dates,” said Morgan.

“If Kevin Mitchell wins a world title there would be a few more (shows) too – but it seems he only fights once a year. He’s just ticking over too, like me.

“You could throw in a few more names, like Liam Walsh, who is a commonwealth champion. It would be great to have those guys headline events.”

Leave a Reply

