Extra training for Andrew Lowe ahead of biggest fight of career against Erick Ochieng

Posted: May 1, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Andrew Lowe

A rejuvenated Andrew Lowe has promised to do his supporters proud when he takes on “the biggest opportunity” of his career later this month.

The Newark-based fighter is cranking up his training in preparation for a shot at Erick Ochieng and the English light-middleweight title at the Nottingham Arena on May 26 – on the undercard to Carl Froch and Lucian Bute’s IBF world super-middleweight title contest.

Lowe is undefeated in his last three fights and produced a dazzling display to lift the British Masters belt by dismantling Terry Maughan inside four rounds last month.

Now, the 32-year-old has his sights set firmly on catapulting himself to national recognition.

“I took just four days off after my last fight in Newark and I’ve been back on it in the gym since,” he told Lincboxing.

“This is a massive opportunity for me – the biggest I’ve had. I couldn’t turn it down or miss it for anything. I’m excited by the challenge.

“I never used to train in the morning before work but I have started running early just for this fight. I run several miles, go to work, and then hit the gym in the evening. It’s what I have to do if I want to win this fight.”

The aggressive boxer admits he lacks the class and raw talent to become a world contender but does believe he can compete for a British title one day.

Despite losing his debut professional bout against Jonny Musgrove back in 2006, Lowe has powered on to forge a decent record of 10 victories, six defeats and one draw.

“I feel really good at the moment and I’m boxing nicely,” he added. “I felt strong in my last fight and I was delighted to win my first title.

“Why can’t I win the English title? I don’t think for a second that Ochieng is invincible. He has lost a fight already and I will be looking to make the most of my chance.

“I have a good heart and a good engine. Hopefully that will be enough on the night.”

More than 100 of Lowe’s fans have bought a ticket for the fight, with many more expected to show their support on the evening.

“I can’t wait to get in there and do my best for the fans. They’re a great lot and they were really vocal in my last fight in Newark.”

Leave a Reply

