Amir Unsworth ready to showcase his prowess against Jamie Spence in Sleaford

Posted: May 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

Proving a point: Amir Unsworth

Amir Unsworth insists he is ready to showcase his forgotten talents.

The Sleaford lightweight is licking his wounds following two devastating defeats on the trot but says recent nose surgery will help him kickstart his boxing career.

The 31-year-old has the perfect opportunity to silence his critics when he defends his Midlands Area title against Northampton-based Jamie Spence on March 19.

The challenger, who has won nine and lost three from 12 contests, pulled out of a fight scheduled between the two last November – citing a cracked rib.

“I seriously can’t wait for this fight,” Unsworth told Lincboxing. “I don’t know how true Jamie’s injury was before our last fight but all I know is I have wanted this opponent for a long time now.

“I have sold a lot of tickets for the fight and now I’m champing at the bit.

“I need to showcase exactly what I can do once again.”

It is just over a year since Unsworth came up short in his quest for English title glory when he suffered a first round stoppage defeat by Derry Matthews in Liverpool.

Matters only got worse last October when the Carl Greaves fighter fell to a points loss by William Warburton – a man who entered the ring with 23 defeats from 28 fights.

“I looked at myself after those fights and realised I needed to do something,” added Unsworth. “My breathing had not been great during fights and so I had work done on my nose.

“Since then I’ve been much better and I can’t wait to get going again.

“The dream is to fight for another English title again. It killed me making the weight in such a short space of time against Matthews and that cost me.

“He has since gone on to become British champion so you have to respect him as a top fighter.”

Asked to predict the outcome of the Spence clash in Sleaford later this month, Unsworth added: “I hope to outbox him over the distance and if the stoppage comes before that then so be it.”

Unsworth goes into the bout with 13 wins, five defeats and a draw to his name.

Comments
  1. Razzle Dazzle lol! says:

    Gwarn Amir!

Leave a Reply

