Martin Murray vows to catch the eye of Julio Cesar Chavez and Felix Sturm on thrilling Manchester bill

Posted: May 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

Martin Murray has vowed to fire a stark warning shot to the rest of the world when he makes his eagerly anticipated return to the ring next month.

The undefeated middleweight is yet to have his opponent named ahead of an action-packed bill at the Manchester Velodrome on June 16.

But the former British, WBA Intercontinental and current Commonwealth champion is ready to dispose of any challenger in his crusade to catch the eye of WBC champion Julio Cesar Chavez in particular.

The unbeaten Mexican and the St Helens-based star were scheduled to lock horns on Chavez soil next month before the mouth-watering contest fell through.

American prospect Andy Lee will now challenge Chavez for his WBA crown with Murray hoping to tackle the victor – so long as he can extend his unbeaten record to 25 fights next month.

Murray has not fought since his thrilling WBA super-middleweight title draw against Felix Sturm in Germany, last December.

“I definitely want to get things back on with Chavez,” Murray told Lincboxing. “I am progressing and learning all the time and there is still a lot of hard work to be done before I am where I want to be.

“But I could beat Chavez. Andy Lee has that fight now and that won’t be easy for the Mexican.

“At the end of the day I’ve only been a professional for four years and I’ve not hit my proper peak yet.

“I want to be the best out there and I want to be a world champion.”

The hard-working 29-year-old came agonisingly close to realising his dream against Sturm.

Sturm rarely ventures outside his home country but Murray revealed he would welcome a rematch.

“I have never had any complaints about the result of that fight,” he continued.

” Some said I won it and some said he edged it so a draw has got to be a fair result. It was tough, really tough.

“I was disappointed not to win but I was willing to go to Germany and get it on. I learnt so much from it and it was a great experience.

“He doesn’t fight out of Germany too often but I can’t blame him. He’s filling stadium’s out there every fight, he’s a champion and he’s making good money from the sport.

“Having said that, I’ve heard rumours he is looking at a few fights in Britain. I’m not sure whether that’d be against a British fighter.”

Next month, Murray, who won Prizefighter in 2008, will fight on the same bill as the British title blockbuster between Scott Quigg and Rendall Munroe.

“My training is going really well,” added Murray. “I haven’t really been out of the gym since Christmas and I’m feeling sharp. Lots of potential opponents have pulled out so far. I just want to get in there, get the win and move on to bigger things.

“As for Quigg against Munroe – I get excited just thinking about it. It’s going to be a cracking fight. The more I think about it the harder it is to call the winner.

“It’s Quigg’s potential against Munroe’s experience. They are both great lads as well. May the best man win.

 

Leave a Reply

