Adam Kettleborough tips Shane McPhilbin to reclaim British Cruiserweight title from Enzo Maccarinelli

Posted: May 9, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Adam Kettleborough has tipped stable-mate Shane McPhilbin to regain his British crusierweight crown with aplomb next month.

McPhilbin goes toe to toe with former world champion Enzo Maccarinelli in Wolverhampton on June 22 – just three months after losing his title to the same opponent under controversial circumstances.

McPhilbin was on the brink of victory after crashing Maccarinelli to the canvas in the first before the bell to signal the end of the round was sounded 42 seconds early.

But now, McPhilbin is ready for revenge according to fellow Carl Greaves fighter Kettleborough.

“I have a strong feeling Shane is going to win it,” said the 26-year-old. “He hits really hard and trust me, Enzo knows that all too well now.

“I think Shane will go for it early and beat him early. As for Enzo I think he will try and box at distance and keep away from Shane’s power. But I think that will play into Shane’s hands.

“Enzo is a good fighter but he just doesn’t have a chin. Shane knows that and he will make the most of it.”

Kettleborough is himself training  hard in preparation for his second professional fight in Sleaford on Saturday, May 19.

The light-welterweight was made to work hard for a debut win against Jatinder Johal in Newark last month but insists he learned more than he could ever have hoped for.

Now, Kettleborough will do battle with Ben Kneller on the undercard to Amir Unsworth’s International Masters title defence against Jamie Spence.

Kneller, with a record of one win and one defeat, is somewhat an unknow quantity but Newark-based Kettleborough is expecting another tough contest.

“I’m sure it will be a tough fight,” he added. “My last fight was really tough and quite close in the end. I was nervous and excited at the same time.

“I struggled to keep calm – which you have to do in boxing. I was in my hometown and the atmosphere was incredible. But the important thing is I got the win and now I move on.

“I hope this fight is a bit easier!”

Kettleborough, who ventured into professional boxing following an undefeated amateur and white collar boxing background, has increased his workload in the gym.

“Training is going good. I have been working a fair bit with Amir Unsworth and his work-rate is phenomenal.

“If I can work half as hard as him I’ll be doing pretty good.

“I don’t want to worry about my opponents. My aim is just to concentrate on myself and prepare for fights the best I can.

“I’m looking forward to this next fight and I’m confident I can get the win I want.”

Leave a Reply

