Richard Towers expects “biggest physical test of his career” against Michael Wallisch

Posted: May 11, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

RICHARD TOWERS expects “the biggest physical challenge” of his career when he faces Michael Wallisch for the vacant EBU heavyweight title.

The two unbeaten boxers will meet at the Manchester Velodrome on June 16 when Towers (13-0, 10 ko’s) vies for the first title of his career against the German (8-0, 5 ko’s).

Fresh from a victory over American Harold Sconiers in March, Towers is making steady progress as he aims to break through into the upper echelons of the domestic boxing division.

 But the 32-year-old is acutely aware that his upcoming battle will prove the sternest examination of his credentials.

“Prison was the biggest mental test of my life but I regard this fight as the biggest physical test of my life,” said Towers.

“He is a dangerous fighter. I’ve had a look at a fight of his on YouTube. He showed good versatility and he switches quite a bit.

“It’s a definite test and I am really looking forward to it, because I feel like I can express myself. If this kid has done anything wrong in his preparation or training, I’ll take advantage because you get out what you put in.”

 Towers received some criticism following the Sconiers fight but insists he cannot be expected to deliver polished performances while still learning his craft.

“Glenn McCrory, who is a friend of mine, mentioned something about not being consistent and not getting the guy out of there quickly enough,” he said.

“But I have not really got the experience to know exactly what I am going to do. I can only perform to the best of my ability. I am always improving, but I can’t run before I can walk. At the moment, I’m just starting to walk.

“It will come to the stage where I will have to step it up again a few paces, but I’m not doing too badly so far. I’m definitely getting to the stage where people appreciate my capabilities.”

Leave a Reply

