Chas Symonds open to fighting Bradley Skeete – and says he would win inside eight rounds

Posted: May 17, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

CHAS Symonds is prepared to face Bradley Skeete if the price is right – and says he can stop the promising welterweight inside eight rounds.

Having captured the southern area belt for a second time in April, Symonds has become a target for the Frank Warren-promoted fighter.

But 29-year-old Symonds, who is set to make only one defence of his championship against Vinny Woolford on July 6, insists he’ll only match up against unbeaten prospect Skeete if a bigger title and a decent pay day is on offer.

“If Frank Warren and (Skeete’s manager) Dean Powell make it and the money is right – and the title’s right – let’s do it,” said Symonds (17-5).

“Good luck to Skeete, he’s a good fighter and a nice guy, but I think I’ve got his number. I’d stop him within eight rounds.

“But I’m not really looking at him, he’s looking at me. Let’s be honest, everyone is looking at someone higher than them.

“I met Al Smith, Skeete’s trainer, yesterday at an England v Scotland amateur show and we talked about a possible WBO Intercontinental title fight. It would have to be a big fight for me to consider it.”

If Symonds-Skeete does not happen, the “Croydon Bomber” has plenty of other options to consider including a drop to light-welterweight.

First he must overcome Woolford (6-5) and, having turned full-time thanks to a sponsor, he insists a more fun-filled past life has been ditched at the expense of total devotion to the sport.

“Vinny is a good little fighter, he comes forward and I’m not going to take him lightly. He’s definitely better than my last opponent, Darryl Still,” said Symonds, who claimed his southern area title against Still.

“I didn’t even get out of first gear against Still. He wasn’t going to come to fight, he can’t fight, and he wouldn’t come forward.

“He assumed that I was going to sit on his chest and throw punches. His sparring partner told me that so I knew what to do.

“What I do next is really important because I’ve got two to three years left in me and I’ve learned to leave the women and the booze alone.

“I have matured now, I love the game. I don’t cheat myself, I don’t go out. I know it’s my last chance.

“Before, I was the life and soul of the party – but now my friends have settled down and have had kids, and boxing is all I get up for.”

Skeete targets September title date

Leave a Reply

