Carl Froch starts war of words with Lucian Bute ahead of eagerly-anticipated world title fight in Nottingham

Posted: May 24, 2012 in Interviews

A focused Carl Froch has blasted Lucian Bute for believing he can successfully defend his IBF world super-middleweight crown in the Nottingham boxer’s hometown.

The pair will battle it out for the undefeated Canadian’s belt in front of a capacity 10,000 crowd at the Capital FM Arena on Saturday evening.

Victory for Froch, who has never lost on home soil during a glittering 10-year professional career, would seal his place with Britain’s all time elite by becoming a three-time world champion.

“I am half-insulted he (Bute) is coming over to Nottingham,” said Froch. “To come to my backyard where I have never been beat, and where I have no intention of being beat? I am really going to let him know what he is in for from round one through to round 12 if necessary.

“I really feel I am going to catch him early with something sweet. He’s been knocked out before as an amateur.

“It’s going to be hard for him and it’s going to be punishing.

“It’s going to be exciting and I want people to enjoy the show. That’s what I’m going to do. I am going to relax and do what I need to do to become the IBF champion of the world. A big thanks to Lucian Bute and his team for coming over but he has made a big mistake.”

Froch is aiming to bounce back from only the second defeat of his career against unbeaten WBC and WBA champion Andre Ward in December.

The 34-year-old admitted he was not at his best that night in Atlantic City but that the time was perfect to redeem himself.

“The Andre Ward fight was a bad night for me,” continued The Cobra. “This is the comeback for me after that bitterly disappointing night in Atlantic City.

“I have been on the road now for three years fighting away from home. Nothing has been comfortable and nothing has been easy. I have a really good feeling about this fight with it being in Nottingham.

“I have a fantastic fan base and that has been proved by the fact the arena is going to be sold out.

“The camp has gone excellent. No fighter is going to tell you a camp hasn’t gone well but it has gone very well.

“I feel fit, strong and I’m on the weight sooner than usual.

“My trainer Rob McCracken has told me lots of positive things about this fight and he is never wrong.”

Most boxing pundits are struggling to separate Froch with an opponent who has won all of his 30 professional fights.

The Romanian born southpaw boasts a mean left hand and 80 per cent knockout ratio.

The 32-year-old’s unanimous points victory over an albeit ageing Glen Johnson in November did at least prove he can overcome a big name in the super-middleweight division.

Despite his opponent’s unblemished record, Froch, who has won 28 fights and lost two, is oozing confidence.

“Over the last three years I have been through every emotion – the highs and the lows,” added Froch.

“I know what it’s like to taste defeat and it’s not nice. I’ve come back from a very close, dubious decision against Mikkel Kessler to put on a career best performance against Arthur Abraham.

“It wasn’t my night in Atlantic City.  I lost a very close fight against a top, top fighter and I’m going to put it right on Saturday night against Lucian Bute.

“If he thinks he can come to my city, my hometown, my fortress, he can think again.

Froch added: “I know what it’s like to fight against a crowd when I went to Denmark to fight Kessler. He is the David Beckham of Denmark.

“There was no respect for the Cobra out there, no respect, no love, nothing.

“I know how that feels and it doesn’t matter what kind of fighter you are, whether you are unbeaten or a champion.

Image

Confident: Carl Froch, who aims to become a three-time world champion with victory over Lucian Bute on Saturday night.
Picture: Chris Vaughan

“When you step into the arena and you’re doing your work and there is silence. Then your opponent is letting shots go and the crowd erupts. You feel the vibration through your chest.

“You can hear the noise of the crowd and it gives you such a lift as the home fighter.

“But it takes you down when you are under fire and trust me Bute is going to be under fire on Saturday night.”

Comments
  1. kevin williams says:

    Come on Froch you desrve this one. Take it with both hands.

Leave a Reply

