Andrew Lowe will use brain power in his quest for English title glory against Erick Ochieng

Posted: May 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

Andrew Lowe reckons it will be a case of brain over brawn in his quest to become English light-middleweight champion this weekend.

The popular Newark boxer has received a golden ticket to the big time with a shot at Erick Ochieng’s title at what will be a sold out Capital FM Arena in Nottingham on Saturday night.

The fight is on the undercard to Carl Froch’s mouth-watering IBF super-middleweight blockbuster against Lucian Bute and will be the first bout screened live on Sky Sports.

“I will have to use my boxing brain if I am going to win the fight,” said 32-year-old Lowe.

“I cannot rush in, or get sucked into his kind of fight. I have seen a few tapes of this guy and while he is decent he is also unorthodox and he throws lots of wild shots.

“I am confident because he has never gone beyond eight rounds.

“I have boxed for 10 rounds on two occasions so I know if it gets to the latter stages of the fight I will be in a good position.”

Lowe earned his shot after winning the vacant British Masters light-middleweight title with a brilliant fourth round stoppage against Terry Maughan in April.

Lowe’s record is a mixed bag. Despite winning 10, he has also lost six and drawn one.

The orthodox fighter is enjoying a new lease of life and is undefeated in his last three fights.

Following nine wins and one defeat to his name, the current champion will enter the ring as the favourite.

But Lowe insits he is in the best shape of his boxing life and that he will give everything to realise his dream.

“This is a massive opportunity for me and I’m going to give it everything in that ring,” added Lowe.

“I blew away Maughan in my last fight and the temptation is to do the same with this guy.

“But I probably need to think about it a bit more and just outbox him.

“I feel I’m in the best shape ever, boxing wise, and I’m looking forward to the fight. Obviously a few nerves have crept in because it means a lot to me. But I don’t necessarily think that’s a bad thing at all.”

As for the main event between Froch and Bute, Lowe struggled to predict the outcome.

“It’s going to be a great fight and who knows?” he said.

Image

Big chance: Andrew Lowe (right)

“I have been impressed with Bute in the build up, but I’m not sure if he’s been tested at the very highest level. It’s anyone’s fight.”

Leave a Reply

