Scott Moises impressed by undefeated John Quigley

Posted: May 25, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

SCOTT Moises has paid tribute to unbeaten John Quigley by labelling him the trickiest fighter he has competed against.

The Norfolk super-featherweight dropped a unanimous points decision to Quigley (7-0) at last weekend’s Aintree show, headlined by David Price’s impressive victory against Moises’ stable-mate Sam Sexton.

And during the six-round contest the 24-year-old (3-6) admitted he had been impressed by the style employed by the southpaw.

“He was clever and awkward, definitely the most awkward boxer I have faced” said Moises, who trains at Graham Everett’s Norwich gym.

“John was a lot faster than I thought he would be, although I knew how he would box and I didn’t change my game plan.

“I felt it was difficult to get my shots off. I jabbed well to the body but should have doubled up those jabs more.

“Graham told me afterwards that he was pleased with my performance and how I handled myself.

“The fight against Quigley was a bit cagey as both of us wanted to counter. It was a hands-down, drawing your opponent in-type of fight.

“But I know I need to get back to the gym and work on my sharpness, speed and putting together combinations.”

Moises, a software applications engineer in Norwich, is a regular traveller for his fights. Prior to his trip to face hometown boxer Quigley in Liverpool, he had taken on Jamie Speight in Plymouth on just a few days’ notice, and has also journeyed to Manchester and London for contests.

Everett has spoken of his frustration at not being able to secure a Norfolk venue for his fighters and that looks set to continue, with Moises prepared to clock up the miles again.

“Most of my fights are too far away for my colleagues at work to come along, so I’d hope to box closer to home,” said Moises.

“That would be nice but I would expect to be on the road again for my next fight.”

Leave a Reply

