Mitchell Smith set for debut on Billy Joe Saunders v Bradley Pryce undercard at York Hall, Bethnal Green

Posted: May 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

Confident hot prospect Mitchell Smith will make his professional debut at York Hall, Bethnal Green this Friday.

The 19-year-old super-featherweight won last year’s 57kg ABA senior championships and is tipped to forge a successful career in the pro ranks.

Smith’s opponent is yet to be named but a large crowd is expected as Billy Joe Saunders’ Commonwealth middlweight title defence against Bradley Pryce headlines the event.

Harrow-based Smith, nicknamed the “Baby Faced Assassin” said: “My team wouldn’t let me, but I know I could fight for the British title tomorrow and win it.

“I am so ready to go.

“As a boxer I want to completely clean up – from winning the Harrow title to the world title.

“I can do anything and adapt to anyone. If I have got to fight, box, jab, switch, I’ll do it and win the fight.

“I’ve never been stopped or put down.

“Now I’m starting to put people over in sparring.”

Smith’s debut has already been cancelled on three occasions and the youngster is desperate to make up for lost time.

“I don’t want to blow my own trumpet but I can’t wait to get the ball rolling,” he continued. “I know I have the ability to go 12 rounds already.”

Smith, whose brother Jez, is a two-time national schoolboy champion and European bronze medallist, will compete in a four round contest on Friday.

He decided to turn professional after being snubbed by Team GB ahead of this year’s London Olympics.

“Basically, Team GB were very reluctant to let me fight for them,” added Smith. “I never got a fair slice of the cake.

“I went up to spar before the World Youth Games and was told I did brilliant.

“Everyone wants to fight at the Olympics and World Championships but I felt there was nothing more I could so so I turned over. I only had half a dozen senior bouts.

“I’ve worked with Carl Frampton, Lewis Pettitt and a few good amateurs – particularly in the West Ham gym.

“I’m just really happy in the gym.”

 

Leave a Reply

