Chris Goodwin confident of a different outcome in Carl Johanneson re-match

Posted: May 31, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

CHRIS GOODWIN believes he can avenge his narrow points defeat to Carl Johanneson when the two meet again this weekend.

The Great Barrow lightweight faces the experienced Yorkshire-based fighter at Manchester’s Bowlers Exhibition Centre on Saturday.

Last time out, Goodwin slipped to just his second loss in 17 fights courtesy of a split decision (95-96, 97-95, 99-93).

But this time – in a fight billed as a final eliminator for the Commonwealth crown – he feels the outcome will be a different, enthused by the amount he has learned from the first contest.

“After the judges’ scoring – it was really close – I did deserve another chance,” Goodwin, 23, told LincBoxing.

“Different judges see things in different ways, so I’m 100 per cent made up to get the re-match.

“Getting beat was absolutely brilliant for me, because it got my head back into it, I got a few different things worked out.

“Last time, we knew it was going to be a tough fight just from having looked at Carl’s record. A lot of people thought I was going to get stopped.

“But I’ve got a lot more confidence going into this one. Even though I got beat, the things I learnt from the fight gave me a confidence boost.

“We’re obviously looking for the ten rounds but if things can be over sooner, then great. I am going to go in and box him. If the knockout comes it comes.”

The fight is set to be screened on Sky Sports.

Leave a Reply

