Martin Murray: “I would love to send Matthew Macklin into retirement.”

Posted: June 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

Martin Murray has blasted long-term middleweight rival Matthew Macklin after the latter “pulled out” of a fight between the two.

Undefeated Murray was ready to go toe to toe with Macklin at the M.E.N Arena on September 22 in what would have been one of the most eagerly-anticipated domestic clashes of the year.

The St Helens based fighter, who faces French champion Karim Achour (13 wins, two losses, two draws) at the Manchester Velodrome on June 16, claims it is the second time Macklin (28 wins, four losses) opted out of the clash after he did something similar last April.

But the former British, WBA Intercontinental and current Commonwealth champion told Lincboxing a third bite of the cherry is unlikely for the Birmingham-based boxer.

“I don’t need Matthew Macklin,” said 29-year-old Murray. “He has nothing to offer me.

“The only reason I signed to fight him was because I wanted to shut him up once and for all.

“I was quietly going about my business before he started mouthing off and calling me out on Twitter.

“We were both offered good money for the fight in September – more than we both got for the Felix Sturm fight. But for whatever reason he has turned it down again.

“I was extremely confident of beating him. He is on the back of two defeats so he’s on the way down.

“I am still undefeated and am focused on progressing all of the time. I am improving and moving up all the time.

“Macklin thinks he is better than he is. He thinks he is pay-per-view but he isn’t.

“I wouldn’t say I would never fight him now, because I would still like to shut him up. I would love to send him into retirement.

“But I’m looking higher than Matthew Macklin now.”

Murray, who won Prizefighter in 2008, is now aiming to stretch his impressive unbeaten run to 25 when he collides with French prospect Achour later this month.

“I’m looking forward to the fight,” added Murray. “You don’t become French champion if you can’t fight a bit so this guy is going to be a tough and different test for me.

“He’s quite a small ans stocky opponent and he comes at you with aggression.

“Training has gone well for me and I’ve had an unbelievable camp.”

The only blemish on Murray’s record was a bruising draw against German WBA super-middleweight champion Felix Sturm in Germany, in December.

Leave a Reply

