Devastated Shane McPhilbin: Enzo Maccarinelli wants a piece of Nathan Cleverly

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

Shane McPhilbin lost a highly controversial first fight to Enzo Maccarinelli.

Shane McPhilbin has revealed he was heartbroken at the news Enzo Maccarinelli had pulled out of the pair’s British Cruiserweight title fight later this month.

The Nottinghamshire-based fighter believes Maccarinelli, who cited a hand injury last week, will now vacate the belt in favour of a money-spinning world title fight against unbeaten Nathan Cleverly.

Welshman Maccarinelli, (34 wins, five losses) was set to defend the title he snatched from McPhilbin in March, in Wolverhampton on June 22.

But McPhilbin, (eight wins and three losses) has once again verbally challenged Maccarinelli – who he believes he would beat.

“I was heartbroken,” the 26-year-old told LincBoxing. “I was all the things you can think of – gutted and annoyed.

“I had never trained as hard for a fight. I was doing everything I could in the mornings and evenings.

“I was ready to take my belt back.

“Enzo doesn’t want a piece of me – that’s obvious. It’s obvious he doesn’t want to run a risk against me.

“I still want to fight him. Bring it on.”

McPhilbin will now take a break from training and is expected back in the ring in August.

If Maccarinelli does challenge WBO light-heavyweight champion Cleverly, McPhilbin believes there will only be one winner.

“It’s Cleverly all day for me,” he added. “He is too quick and too fresh. Maccarinelli is one more defeat away from retirement and he knows it.

“That’s, I’m sure, why he didn’t want to fight me.

“Did he have a genuine hand injury? I’m not sure. But for the rest of my career, a rematch with Maccarinelli is all I will ever want.

“I know I can beat him and so does he.”

Leave a Reply

