Scott Quigg: I’ll never be a world champion if I lose to Rendall Munroe

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

SCOTT Quigg believes his world title ambitions will be over forever if Rendall Munroe wins the clash of the nation’s top super-bantamweights.

In one of the most intriguing domestic fights of 2012, former world title challenger Munroe faces British champion Quigg in the main event at the Manchester Velodrome on Saturday,  June 16.

While the relatively meaningless WBA interim title is at stake, the opportunity to ascend to world title level will be the primary focus for both men.

Although 23-year-old Quigg insists he is dominant in too many departments for his experienced opponent, he is also acutely aware that failure on Hatton Promotions’ biggest-ever bill would kill off his hopes of holding a world crown.

Victory could herald potential big-money world title tilts against the likes of Cuba’s world champion Guillermo Rigondeaux. Failure, by Quigg’s own admission, dumps the loser into a bleak no-man’s land.

“If either one of us doesn’t win this fight, there’s nowhere to go. If I don’t beat him I’ll never be a world champion,”  Quigg, who has a perfect 24-0 record, told LincBoxing.

 

“I’m in the same boat as Munroe. I have to beat my opponent. Every fight is my last chance.

“If I get beat at the level below where I want to compete then I’m in the wrong sport. If this doesn’t go right, everything  I’ve done in the past means nothing.

“Without a doubt, anything I’ve done beforehand in my career has all built to this moment, to this fight. But Rendall is not going to have the edge on me.

“He is big and strong and very experienced, which is one of the main things he has over me. People also often underrate his skill.

“But what I want to do is to be number one. To do that, I have to beat Rendall Munroe. I’m confident in myself and my ability. I’m physically ready. There’ll be no excuses on the night.”

The experience edge to which Quigg refers is not in relation to the Leicester man’s number of fights – both competitors have 24 wins, with Munroe registering two losses compared with his foe’s unblemished record.

But unlike Hatton’s rising star, the “Boxing Binman” can lay claim to a world title challenge  against Japan’s Toshiaki Nishioka, in October 2010.

While Munroe came up short by a wide margin on points, Quigg is wary of the former European champion’s edge in high-pressure situations – and says that challenge is also why he, for the moment ,is disregarding the highly-touted unbeaten Carl Frampton.

“The big difference between Carl Frampton and Rendall Munroe is that Rendall is proven. This is a ten-times harder fight than Carl Frampton would be at this stage,” said Quigg.

“It’s a fight the fans want to see. People can go on about Carl Frampton but at the moment he means nothing to me. It’s all about this fight, because Munroe has competed at world level .  Although he fell short, he was around at that level.

“But I believe I have the edge over him in a lot of departments. Where I go from here all depends on how I beat Rendall. If I do a job on him then who knows?

“At the moment If anyone comes up to me and says ‘well, if you win this…’ then I’ll just tell them to shut up. Once I’ve won the fight, then we can sit down and talk.

“At the moment I’m not thinking past Rendall Munroe. I won’t take my eye off the ball.”

 

However focussed the dedicated Quigg forces himself to be for June 16, there is plenty of temptation to think ahead of potential world title match-ups for the Joe Gallagher-trained boxer.

Rigondeaux would make sense and there is history between the two, courtesy of a sparring session in the famed Wild Card Gym, in Hollywood.

“He had just knocked out his previous sparring partner,” recalls Quigg.

“I went in there and gave a good account of myself, which gave me loads of confidence. Out in the United States I sparred with guys who had totally different styles, which was really good for me.

“I was also told to watch videos of old fighters, who do things you just don’t see any more.

“That’s why my favourite boxer is Wilfredo Gomez. If he didn’t have the power to beat opponents then he would use his skill and boxing ability. His defence was good, he never stood in front of an opponent and was always looking for angles when throwing punches.

“I love watching him, because you can never stop learning. It’s why I have such an open mind.”

Leave a Reply

