English champion Erick Ochieng eyes next step after beating Andrew Lowe

Posted: June 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

English light-middleweight champion Erick Ochieng is ready to take his career to the next level – by landing a British or Commonwealth title shot.

The Stoke boxer retained his title with a hard fought points victory against Andrew Lowe on the undercard to Carl Froch’s dazzling performance against Lucian Bute in Nottingham last month.

It was Ochieng’s first defence of the title he won back in January, via a ninth
round retirement by then opponent Nick Quigley.

Ochieng boxed off the back foot against Lowe and looked impressive for large spells of the bout.

 

Ochieng said: “Against Lowe I came out quick, nice and relaxed. I was using my jab,
most of my punches were one-two, one-two-three, but mostly using the jab
and catching him all the time and I was making him miss.

“The thing is I could have changed gear, my speed, and finished things
early but I was relaxed.

“Around round seven or eight I caught him with a right hook, straight right
hand, left hook combination and rocked him a bit, but I took my foot off
the gas and used my jab.

“It was a comfortable win, one of the judges gave me all the rounds
and two of the judges gave me all but two rounds.

“I think one of them was the last round, I was just taking my time and
enjoying myself. It was a big venue, it was incredible.”

Looking ahead, Ochieng added: “Fighting on
such a big event in front of such a huge crowd made me so excited, I liked
the environment, the big crowd and everyone chanting my name.

“Obviously my aim is to become World Champion and one of the titles will be
the IBF, that or the WBC.

“Hopefully I’ll be defending my title next on the undercard of
Kell Brook’s fight on July 7 – obviously we’re still waiting for
confirmation.”

Leave a Reply

