Sam Sexton says David Price is the best heavyweight in Britain

Posted: June 6, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

SAM Sexton is adamant that unbeaten David Price is the best heavyweight in Britain.

Amid the much-hyped Dereck Chisora-David Haye clash at Upton Park next month, Price is rapidly moving into a position of some influence thanks to some impressive wins – most recently a dominant fourth-round knockout of Sexton in May.

Now, the Norwich man, who has lost only to Chisora (twice) and Price in his 18-fight career, believes the Frank Maloney boxer is the pick of the nation’s heavy hitters after being on the receiving end of three knockdowns in their Liverpool clash.

“I would place him at the top of Britain’s heavyweights. He’ll go all he way and win a world title,” Sexton told LincBoxing.

“OUr plan going into the fight was to take him in the later rounds, to take him when he was tired.

“But every shot he threw, even when it hit my gloves, was strong. I didn’t expect him to be as strong as he was.

“I definitely could have got up from the third knockdown, but the referee was holding me down. In saying that, I couldn’t remember the fight afterwards. Price has real punching power.

“When I fought Chisora I wasn’t in the right frame of mind, but for this one I trained hard and felt good. Because of that, I don’t think there is anyone at Price’s level.”

Sexton must now turn his thoughts to getting back to winning ways and says he wishes to become more active. His 18 bouts have been spread across a lengthy career which began in 2005.

“I’ve always said the same things, I want whoever has the titles,” said Price.

“But I want to be more active. Since Price I have been relaxing and back at the gym. My trainer, Graham Everett, never lets me have much time off. I’d be 20 stone otherwise!”

Leave a Reply

