Scott Hartley aims to carve out successful career following tough stint in the navy

Posted: June 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

Scott Hartley, left

Few professional boxers have a degree under their belt.

Even fewer have made their fighting debuts inside an aircraft carrier.

But Scott Hartley is no ordinary boxer.

The Stirling born light-heavyweight has made an impressive start to life as a professional following a gutsy draw and impressive victory from his opening two bouts.

Despite his qualification in sports science, academic prowess and opportunity to make big money in London, where he is now based, Hartley is focused on making his name in boxing.

The personal trainer, who played rugby to a high level in Scotland before joining the navy nine years ago,  conjured a terrific record as an amateur. Hartley won 32 of his 40 fights – including four knockout victories.

The former HMS Invincible and Royal Navy Command champion believes he has exactly what it takes to forge a successful career in the professional ranks.

“I believe I have enough talent to get to the very top,” said the 25-year-old. “I came into boxing relatively late. I was more of a rugby player.

“I started boxing after I joined the navy and my first fight was on an aircraft carrier based off the coast of Marseille.

“But I soon realised I was good at it and I love it. I did not decide to go into professional boxing to make up the numbers and not to be a small show fighter.

“I have a sports science degree and I could make a fair but of money by going into the city and working. But boxing is what I want to do.

“It is the biggest challenge of all in my opinion. You have to put your body on the line every day in training and even more during fights. It is the ultimate physical test and I love every minute of it.”

Hartley is a two-time Scottish elite finalist, two-time eastern district champion and three-time multi-nations medallist.

He has already shown immense character after a torrid start to life as a professional.

Things could not have started any worse for Hartley who crashed to the canvas in the opening round of his first bout against Stuart Maddox last November.

But Hartley bounced back admirably to salvage a draw over a short four-round contest.

Last time out, the 6ft 2ins fighter looked impressive in a points win over Marco Stephenson at York Hall, Bethnal Green.

He is expected to fight at Bethnal Green again on September 23.

“I seriously couldn’t believe it when I got dropped in my first fight,” Hartley told Lincboxing. “I was just looking down at the floor in disbelief thinking ‘how have you let this happen’?

“But you need to react in times like that and I think I did that. I came back strong to get a draw and I got my first win in March.

“I’m undefeated and I’m looking to get better and better.

“I had to pull out of a fight last month because of an injury I got in training. That was disappointing.

“I am scheduled to fight again in September, but if we can get me back in the ring, perhaps at the start of August, then great.

“I like to box nicely – but it can depend on my opponent, If I feel I can get them out of there then I will do.”

“I want to be busy and do the best I can.

Leave a Reply

