Defiant Andrew Lowe: Brian Rose will have too much for Erick Ochieng

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

Andrew Lowe has delivered a stark message to light-middleweight English champion Erick Ochieng – you will never be crowned world champion.

The Stoke title holder recorded a unanimous points victory against Lowe in Nottingham last month to retain his belt.

Since then the tough prospect has voiced his desire to become a world champion.

Before then, he will eye shots at both the British and Commonwealth titles.

But Newark based Lowe has a warning for the champion.

“That claim is absolutely rubbish,” said the 32-year-old. “I don’t even think he will become British champion because Brian Rose will be too good for him.

“Erick has won his chance but he isn’t good enough. He hasn’t got the power to be a big time fighter.

“If he thinks he should be a world champion one day then he needs to be bombing a fighter like me out of the ring inside one or two rounds.

“Apart from a couple of shots in the seventh round of our fight he didn’t even hurt me.”

Lowe accepted he lost last month’s contest fair and square, but wishes he started to attack Ochieng earlier than the final three rounds.

“I just gave him too much respect in the early rounds,” added Lowe. “He beat me and well done to him. But there were a few rounds in the middle of the fight where neither of us were doing much.

“It was then I realised I was better than that and I took it to him. But it was too late. Promoter Eddie Hearn said after that I won the last three rounds.

“I think he and his team thought they were going to get me out there early. He had no respect for me, but I made him look a bit of a fool in the last few rounds.”

Lowe fought in front of 5,000 people in the build up programme to Carl Froch’s devastating win over IBF super-middleweight champion Lucian Bute.

“It was a great atmosphere and I want a bit more of that before I call it quits,” he added.

The former masters title holder will now take a brief break from the sport before fighting again in his hometown on October 13.

His opponent will be named at a later date.

Warning: Andrew Lowe

Leave a Reply

