Kieran Farrell expects showdown with Tommy Coyle for English title after Elfidh bout

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

KIERAN FARRELL anticipates a showdown with Tommy Coyle for the English lightweight title – providing he can dispose of Joe Elfidh.

The Coldwell Boxing prospect has motored to a 12-0 record against a string of journeymen but says he’s happy, finally, to be facing an unbeaten fighter with the central area title on the line.

Farrell headlines the Viva Las Vicious show at the Reebok Stadium, Bolton, on June 22 but has already plotted a path to further title glory, predicting that fellow unbeaten Hull  boxer Coyle will claim the English crown when he meets veteran Martin Gethin in his home city on September 29.  That could possibly pave the way for a meeting between two of the division’s rising stars.

“If Coyle wins that will be interesting, because we’ve sparred before. They were good spars – everyone watched,” revealed Farrell, whose last outing was a comfortable points victory against Jason Nesbitt on the undercard of Carl Froch v Lucian Bute, in Nottingham.

“I expect Tommy Coyle to win that fight but you cannot count out Martin Gethin, he’s beaten the odds before.

“But before that I’ve got to get past Elfidh and it’s nice to be fighting someone undefeated. I have been saying this since I was 1-0 – I want to have a proper test.

“I haven’t seen him personally but people tell me that he will be a bit wild. He has a tight points win over Joe Hughes – who I know from the amateurs – and he must have done a good job to beat Joe.

“But I feel magnificent. People need to beware because when I do fight these lads they are going to get hurt.”

Farrell was more than comfortable in seeing off Nesbitt, who weighed six pounds more than his opponent. The Heywood fighter dropped the veteran in the third round of a scheduled 6×2 contest before wrapping up a very easy points win.

“I thought Jason Nesbitt would try to club me because he came in over the weight but I hit a sharp right to the temple,” Farrell told LincBoxing.

“He covered up after that and was like a turtle in his shell. Time ran out in that round, which is why I think they went for two-minute rounds. I think it was a tactical thing for them to do. If I had had that extra minute in the round I could have finished him.

“At the moment it’s all trial and error for me, but fair play to Dave Coldwell because he put his hand in his pocked to put me on the Froch show.”

 

Leave a Reply

