Cello Renda in line for third crack at Paul Samuels and says: “I have the power to knock out any middleweight in Britain.”

Posted: June 10, 2012 in Uncategorized
Image

Big hitter: Cello Renda

Big hitting Cello Renda claims a two-year break from boxing has made him hungrier than ever.

The Peterborough-based middleweight recorded a routine points victory over Ruslans Pojonisevs on his long awaited return in March.

Renda, who reached the final of Prizefighter in 2008 before losing to still-unbeaten Martin Murray, was forced to break from the sport he loved after falling out with his previous manager.

Money disputes and other problems meant Renda’s passion for boxing had vanished.

But now, the 27-year-old (19 wins, nine losses and one draw) could be about to put pen to paper on a third fight with Paul Samuels.

The pair are famous for their first encounter back in 2009 when both fighters were knocked to the canvas at exactly the same time.

Samuels went on to stop Renda in the third round before also winning the rematch on points in 2010.

Renda is determined to make it third time lucky.

“It is fantastic to be back in the sport I love,” Renda told Lincboxing. “I have changed nearly everything. I have a new trainer, I am training in Birmingham and I am really into eating the right foods now.

“I always knew I had it in me and so I’ve come back working harder. Before I used to receive four or five punches before landing my big blow.

“Now I work behind a defence and a jab – a good jab at that.

“I have the power to knock out any middleweight in Britain.”

Looking ahead to a potential tussle with Samuels at the Peterborough Showground on September 29, Renda continued: “I am looking to get him again. It’s unfinished business.

“We are famous for the double knock down and I think it got over one million hits on Youtube.

“But back then my training consisted of just turning up to the gym and banging the bag. It is so much more than that now.

“I’ve already sold more than 200 tickets for the show so let’s hope I get him. He has lost every fight since I beat him. I’m confident.”

Renda, who boasts an eye-catching 40 per cent knockout success rate, knocked out Sam Horton in a British middleweight title eliminator in 2009.

He now believes it is his destiny to be crowned British champion before he hangs up his gloves.

“That remains the dream,” added the former English title contender. “I believe I have what it takes to win that belt. It’s what every kid dreams of and I was no different. I’m still dreaming of it now!

“Before my break I had a name because I can bang. I have a big punch. But I was taking fights at short notice all the time.

“It’s different now. I don’t need to be that fighter anymore. I am going in the right direction.”

Leave a Reply

