Adam Etches aims to move towards middleweight elite with victory over Ferenc Zold

Posted: June 11, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

ADAM Etches intends to drop more bombs on his latest beleaguered opponent when he appears on the biggest show of his career to date.

The Sheffield middleweight squares off against Hungarian Ferenc Zold on the undercard of the Scott Quigg v Rendall Munroe clash in Manchester this Saturday.

Having blasted his way to six stoppage wins in just his first eight fights, the 21-year-old “Bomber” intends to put away his durable but unspectacular opponent (15-10) in double-quick time at the Velodrome, especially as Zold has lost three of his last four.

“He’s a tough kid who’s won more than he’s lost. I’m not expecting it to be a walk in the park,” said Etches, managed by Hatton Promotions matchmaker Richard Poxon.

“Every time I get in the ring – I’m not saying I look for it – but I want to knock out someone. That is what people want to see.

“I have been with the Ingle Gym now for three fights and for each one I have had a different kind of opponent, but we have all been impressed with the progress that has been made.

“There’s not been so much sparring for this one, only two or three sessions because I fought not long ago (a fifth-round stoppage of Borislav Zankov on April 26) but I’ve sparred Junior Witter and Kell Brook and I feel good.

“I have to keep working on things that I am not so good at, like footwork and movement. It’s just a case of stepping up each time I fight, fighting someone better than I did in the last fight.”

Should Etches add more wins to his encouraging early record, he will join a domestic middleweight scene brimming with talent.

“Maybe I am biased because I’m fighting in this division, but I believe middleweight is the best weight group there is in this country,” he said.

“You have three or four fighters who are well above domestic level, guys like Martin Murray, Mathew Macklin and Darren Barker. There’s Kerry Hope who has beaten Grzegorz Proska for the European title, then three or four others like myself who are on my level – people like Chris Eubank Junior, Billy-Joe Saunders and Ryan Aston.

“But because there are that many, it’s important you are not the first one of the bunch to slip up.

“I don’t want to call anyone out but I want as many belts and titles as I can, and to be as well known as possible.

“When my career has progressed a bit more, I want to fight whoever is British champion.”

Leave a Reply

