Road to Glory: Rendall Munroe promises a “bad” defeat for Scott Quigg

Posted: June 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

A fired up Rendall Munroe has promised to inflict a “bad” loss on British champion Scott Quigg’s unblemished record this weekend.

The impressive super-bantamweights will clash for the Interim WBA title at a sold out Manchester Velodrome in what promises to be one of the most evenly contested domestic battles of the year.

Leicester based Munroe will step into the ring as an underdog for the first time since he fought for the WBC super bantamweight title against Toshiaki Nishioka in his homeland of Japan in 2010.

The super fit 32-year-old lost by unanimous points decision on that occasion despite producing a fine display away from home.

Now, Munroe is relishing the underdog tag and has vowed to beat hot prospect Quigg.

“I am super sharp, super hungry and super fit,” Munroe told Lincboxing. “Not only is Scott Quigg going to taste defeat for the first time but it is going to be a bad defeat at that.

“I am so ready for this fight. I have been pretty much bang on the weight for four weeks or so.

“I am going to smash Scott Quigg. People have made him favourite and to be honest I love that.

“I am going to prove a lot of people wrong during this fight. My engine is burning bright. Training has gone perfect and I can’t wait to get in there.”

Munroe will certainly have experience of big occasions on his side. The Boxing Binman has lost just two of 26 fights. He is a former Commonwealth and European champion.

He is brimming with confidence after dismantling Jose Saez inside a round at the Reebok Stadium in Bolton in February.

Image

Blockbuster: Scott Quigg and Rendall Munroe will get it on for the WBA Interim title in Manchester on Saturday evening.

Quigg on the other hand has won all 24 of his professional fights and stopped Jamie Arthur in the eighth round on the same Bolton bill four months ago.

“I have nothing bad to say about Scott Quigg because he is a good lad,” added Munroe. “I would not disrespect him. But he hasn’t fought anyone like me before and he will soon realise that when he comes face to face with me.

“I am only the underdog because of my age and because he hasn’t lost a fight. But who has he fought?

“Age means nothing and I am going to win. It is as simple as that.”

Lincboxing will be reporting from Road to Glory in Manchester on Saturday night. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

