Nathan Dale looking forward to being part of big-time boxing’s return to Norwich

Posted: June 15, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

NATHAN Dale will fight in Norwich for only the second time in 65 outings when boxing returns to his home city on July 7.

The 4-0 prospect from the Graham Everett gym will be among a sizable Norfolk contingent on the undercard of Michael Walsh’s British Masters title bout, with Ryan Walsh and Scott Moises also on the show.

Promoted by Shamrock Boxing and Dennis Hobson, the event at the Norfolk Showground is the first card in the city for more than three years.

And it serves as the perfect platform from which welterweight Dale can prove that home is where the hurt is, with a bout against Tottenham’s Mark McKray (2-12-1).

“I’m looking forward to it because in 60 amateur fights and four professional fights I’ve fought in Norwich only once,” said Dale, whose victims in the paid ranks are Shaunn Watt, Liam Griffiths, Danny Dontchev and Kyle Winters, all away from home.

“It’s going to be really big and an electric atmosphere, so I want to get McKray out really early. I’ve got power, I’m getting stronger and fighting at a comfortable weight.

“I spar with the Walshes week in and week out and that can only help my development. I just want to keep going up in the ranks, keep on learning. I’m not in any rush, I just want to keep going the way I’m going.

“The plan is to wait eight months, then go for a title. That’s the route I want to take, a Masters then an area shot, and go from there.”

And Dale believes the show will place a much-needed spotlight on the Norfolk boxing scene, which recently has been carried by Commonwealth super-featherweight champion Liam Walsh.

“The Walshes have brought in a different crowd, a lot of new fans,” said Dale, “Liam Walsh has got massive support, especially from little old Cromer.

“Now we’re trying to get three shows a year down here in Norwich. I started when I was nine with my uncle at the lads’ club, now I get up at 4am to work five hours before hitting the gym, so it will be great to finally box on a professional show in my home city.”

Leave a Reply

