Road to Glory: Rendall Munroe hails his army of fans ahead of Scott Quigg fight

Posted: June 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

Road to Glory. Scott Quigg and Rendall Munroe

Rendall Munroe has paid tribute to his army of fans ahead of tonight’s mouth-watering clash with Scott Quigg at Manchester Velodrome.

More than 600 supporters will make the trip from Leicester as they bid to raise the roof for their hero.

The two super-bantamweights will go toe to toe for the interim WBA title in front of a capacity crowd.

The super fit 32-year-old, who has won 24 of 26 professional fights told Lincboxing: “My fans are out of this world.

“I have more than 600 fans supporting me in Manchester and they will definitely make themselves heard.

“These are just the people I know about – there may be more.

“This fight is a massive opportunity for me and Scott Quigg. I don’t plan to lose. I plan to win this fight for me and my great fans.”

Leicester-based Munroe will step into the ring as an underdog for the first time since he fought for the WBC super bantamweight title against Toshiaki Nishioka in his homeland of Japan in 2010.

The super fit 32-year-old lost by unanimous points decision on that occasion despite producing a descent display away from home.

Now, Munroe is relishing the underdog tag and has vowed to beat hot prospect Quigg.

“I am super sharp, super hungry and super fit,” Munroe told Lincboxing. “Not only is Scott Quigg going to taste defeat for the first time but it is going to be a bad defeat at that.

“I am so ready for this fight. I have been pretty much bang on the weight for four weeks or so.

“I am going to smash Scott Quigg. People have made him favourite and to be honest I love that.

“I am going to prove a lot of people wrong during this fight. My engine is burning bright. Training has gone perfect and I can’t wait to get in there.”

Quigg has won all 24 of his professional fights and stopped Jamie Arthur in the eighth round in Bolton, four months ago.

Comments
  1. kevin williams says:

    Let’s get going Quigg, this is yours for the taking. We need the young and fresh to come through.
    Keep up the great website, good interviews good news but more pictures please!

Leave a Reply

