Brian Rose to recharge batteries ahead of British title defence against Sam Webb

Posted: June 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

British light-middleweight champion Brian Rose insists he must recharge his batteries before he defends his title against mandatory challenger Sam Webb.

The Blackpool fighter, nicknamed The Lion, has fought three times in the last six months – culminating in a “slack” if albeit victorious performance against Scotland’s Kris Carslaw (15 wins, two losses) earlier this month.

The exciting prospect (20 wins, one draw, one loss) has high hopes of going on to be crowned world champion one day but understands he must ease his workload to achieve his ambitious goal.

“I have been busy to say the least,” Rose told Lincboxing. “The money has become quite good now I am British champion and you can become a bit greedy.

“I am fighting Sam Webb next and I intend to have at least three or four weeks out of the gym to recharge.

“Boxing is the toughest of sports and there is always that danger of burn out if you are not careful.

“I will keep my running up to maintain a decent level of fitness but there will be no boxing.”

Rose aims to be back in the ring in early September against Kent-based Webb (18 wins, two losses) and hopes to build on a gutsy points win over the dangerous Carslaw.

The 27-year-old was on the wrong end of some heavy blows from Carslaw but powered through to notch another triumph.

“Sam is the mandatory fight for me and I look forward to it,” added Rose. “I was slack against Carslaw. He was at his best and I was tired and yet I still won – that must say a lot.

“I was just fatigued. It has been hard for me. There have been so many fights for me and I’ve been away from my girlfriend and son Oscar for long periods.

“This is why I need that break. I had an off night against Carslaw and I want to prove that’s all it was. He was tough and tricky and fair play to him.

“But the rest is the key and I need to keep my feet grounded. I have had a good start to my career but that’s all it is at the moment.

“I want so much more. I want to defend my British belt a few more times and then win the European title. If I get a crack at a world title off that then brilliant – I will be ready.”

Leave a Reply

