Rendall Munroe desperate for rematch with Scott Quigg after nine stitches to his right eye

Posted: June 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Rendall Munroe is eyeing a rematch with Scott Quigg by the end of the year.

The pair’s much anticipated clash for the interim WBA title came to a bitterly disappointing end in Manchester after the two clashed heads in the third round and the referee was forced to call a halt to proceedings.

What looked like a horrific eye injury for Leicester-based Munroe is now not believed to be as bad as first fault after he received nine stitches to the injury earlier this week.

The fight was perfectly poised going into the third. Munroe looked sharp and in deadly mood in the first before Bury-based Quigg showed impressive movement in the second.

“I want the rematch as soon as possible,” Munroe told Lincboxing. “It was one of those things at the end of the day. The referee was right to call it a technical draw but I was gutted.

“I was in peak condition. To have trained at an incredible pace for months and then for the fight to last just over six minutes was a massive blow.

“As soon as his head hit mine I was in so much pain. I then couldn’t see out of it. I knew it wasn’t great as soon as I saw the blood flowing down my face like a waterfall.”

British number one at super-bantamweight, Munroe (24-2-1) went into ‘Road to Glory’ hell bent on proving why he was one place above 23-year-old Quigg in the rankings.

Expecting to be back in the gym next week, Munroe has been told he can start sparring again in eight weeks.

“I’m going to have a bit of a break with the family and then get back on it in the gym,” added Munroe. “I want the rematch by the end of this year and who knows – maybe even in Leicester.

“I am sure I would sell the place out. My fans were out of this world on Saturday and I wanted to win for them.

“I felt so good during the fight. He hit me with his best shot in the second and I was thinking ‘right, let’s have it’.

“Scott is a good kid and he will say the fight was going according to plan for him. But I know I was ready to show exactly why I am Britain’s number one and why I am at world level.

“Once he saw the blood on me he wanted to come forward and have a scrap.  But other than that he didn’t want to come anywhere near me.

Image

Anti-climax: Scott Quigg (left) and Rendall Munroe

“I can’t wait to do it all again.”

Leave a Reply

