Unbeaten Kieran Farrell targets Tommy Coyle after beating Joe Elfidh

Posted: June 25, 2012 in News
Tags: , , , ,

KIERAN Farrell wants a clash against Tommy Coyle to determine the true rising star of the British lightweights.

The 21-year-old claimed the first title of his career thanks to a crunching body shot which put down veteran Joe Elfidh in their Central Area championship bout in Bolton on Friday.

Hull’s Coyle may be next on the list as Coldwell Promotions prospect Farrell aims to continue his ascent in the division. A clash between the two, who have identical 13-0 records, is a realistic target for the Heywood man.

“It would be a 50/50 fight, but that’s what I’m all about,” said Farrell.

“Tommy is a bit like Joe Elfidh – he comes out with nervous energy, throwing big bombs. But if he fights me, the result will be the same.

“Britain is looking for the next superstar all the time. Who better to fight than your main rival?”

Farrell is now one of a group of lightweights, including Coyle and Grimsby’s Kev Hooper, who are trying to make an assault on the division’s leading lights.

His long-range goals include a possible meeting with the winner of the July 7 European lightweight title clash between Gavin Rees and Derry Matthews, who meet on the undercard of Kell Brook’s fight against Carson Jones in Sheffield.

“When I was with (former manager) Steve Wood, he asked if I was interested in a fight against Matthews, should Stephen Jennings pull out,” said Farrell.

“I never got the call-up. But even though I would have taken the fight then, I feel even more ready now, so let’s have me v Coyle and the winner face whoever wins from Rees and Matthews.”

The Elfidh result was another learning experience for Farrell, who conceded that he lost the opening two rounds while his 32-year-old opponent (now 7-1) attempted to power his way to the title.

But, having weathered an early storm, Farrell proved his class.

“The plan was to box his head off for the first four rounds, then take the fight to him,” said Farrell.

“My 21-year-old legs were going to take me through the later rounds. He did get tired, but that was due to a body punch in the third round.

“When I dropped him in the fifth I knew he was done at six, so I started celebrating then.

“There were no big parties afterwards. I went home to my family, had a cup of tea and some custard creams! But I want to get straight back into it, I cannot wait.”

Leave a Reply

