Scott Quigg: Rendall Munroe result left me feeling like I had lost

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , , ,

A FRUSTRATED Scott Quigg has admitted that the desperate disappointment of his technical draw with Rendall Munroe left him feeling “like I had lost.”

The clash of Britain’s top two super-bantamweights was built up as one of the potential domestic fights of the year.

But following two stanzas which built up huge intrigue for the remainder of the bout, a clash of heads in the third left the Leicester fighter with an ugly gash – forcing the contest to be halted.

Many questions remain in a division which also features the highly-touted Carl Frampton and the talented Kid Galahad, but the biggest of all – who can lay claim to be the country’s finest – is still, frustratingly, out of touch for the protagonists.

And that inconclusive outcome has caused the hard-working Quigg to enter a period of reflection since the fight at Manchester’s Velodrome last month.

“I’m still gutted to be honest,” the Hatton Promotions fighter told LincBoxing.

“I was devastated, I felt like I had lost. It still hits me now sometimes, I sit at home and I’m absolutely gutted because my training had been perfect.

“I have to feel confident that had the fight gone on, I would have won it. When you are in the ring you know when things are working, and for me they were working straight away.

“I know what I can do because I spar and train at the gym but no-one had seen me in the ring at that level. And I wanted to make people believe that I can go on to the next level.

“It was a massive disappointment and I was really fed up. But I’ve got to put it behind me or it will fester.”

Bury-based Quigg, a renowned hard worker in the gym, took just two days’ break following the Munroe fight before he returned to his training.

He has since been told to take a breather – opting for a ten-day holiday in Dubai – but is adamant his tenacious pursuit of fitness and improvement will continue on his return.

“After having a long camp for the last fight, 10 to 11 weeks, my body needs to rest,” said Quigg, who is part of the famed Joe Gallagher gym.

“With Munroe, I wanted to sort out some unanswered questions. After the fight I only had Sunday and Monday off but I’ve been told to get a break.

“But when I come back, I’ll hit the gym again. Rendall said he would be ready by September, so maybe the fight can be made for late September or early October.

“I need to beat Munroe then go to the next level, it’s a fight I need to have and to win. Facing someone like (WBA titlist) Guillermo Rigondeaux is still 18 months away for me. He is someone special, a special talent.

“At the moment it’s just about slowly building up experience. Plans are on hold, but you try not to feel angered about it and try to take the positives.”

Leave a Reply

