Nathan Decastro ready to mix it in the pro ranks

Posted: July 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

Winner: Nathan Decastro (left)

Nathan Decastro has promised to mix it with the best Britain has to offer after putting pen to paper on a professional contract.

The 21-year-old middleweight , nicknamed “Nightmare”, revealed he is desperate to start landing television appearances and big money deals.

Decastro, from Bardney in Lincolnshire, is expected to make his debut in Newark on October 13 – on a Carl Greaves promotion.

“I can’t wait to get in that ring and start my professional career,” said Decastro.

“I want to be a British or European champion one day and I can sell tickets so I’m looking forward to a really good career.

“It will be very tough to go and become a world champion but I am confident I can still do really well.”

Decastro, who has trained at Bracebridge Boxing Club since he was nine, won a shade more than half his 91 amateur bouts.

He faced and even floored Chris Eubank Junior, son of the former world champion, last year before going on to taste defeat.

Eubank has since made a blistering start to life in the professional ranks.

Decastro works in the building trade but says it is his dream to turn full-time as soon as possible.

“At the moment I train twice a day,” Decastro continued. “I run hard in the morning and then I’m back in the gym after work where I am sparring and doing all sorts.

“I had loads of amateur fights and could have gone on to fight more than 100 but I just wanted to make a bit of money. The time is right for me to do that.

“I’ve been signed by Jason McClory and people seem to think I could be on television by my second fight.

“That would be a brilliant feeling. I am an entertaining fighter.

“I lost a few of my amateur fights but most of them were because the style didn’t suit my type of boxing.

“I love to move forward and have a scrap. But I can box a bit too.”

Leave a Reply

