Liam Walsh unhappy despite Urbano win – says he “wasn’t there” emotionally

Posted: July 16, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

LIAM Walsh was unhappy with his performance despite easing to a TKO victory against Domenico Urbano.

The Cromer-based boxer, appearing on the undercard of the controversial David Haye v Dereck Chisora bout at West Ham United’s Upton Park, was far too good for his Italian opponent.

And while admitting to ring rust following an absence which stretches back to his fight of the year effort in defeating Paul Appleby last September, Walsh says he was unhappy with his overall display.

“Emotionally, I wasn’t with it,” conceded Walsh, who was in the ring for the first time since his father died aged 49 just before Christmas. The win was dedicated to the Walsh patriarch.

“I am usually buzzing, excited for the fight, and when I woke up that day I really was buzzing. Even in the changing rooms I was ready.

“But there was a song that played on the night and, when it came on, it really put me on edge.

“I didn’t really have a game plan going in because I couldn’t find out anything about Urbano so I came out in the first couple of rounds just to have a look at him. During those I was terrible, a bit numb, I don’t think I was really there.

“But I’m always my own harshest critic and I’m always striving to improve. I just don’t think I am improving quickly enough.”

Walsh picked up the WBO European lightweight title for his efforts, but admits he does not know when he will fight again amid the ongoing battle between his promoter Frank Warren and the British Boxing Board of Control.

“I haven’t heard anything about whether I can fight again,” said the 26-year-old, who improved his record to 13-0 with the victory against Urbano.

“Hopefully people can come to their senses and realise that I have a family to feed.

“I hope any man with a heart would see that I did not have much choice (but to fight).

“I have a lot of respect for the BBBofC and I want to box under them but I don’t know if it will be possible or not.”

Leave a Reply

