Enzo Maccarinelli speaks out after being banned from boxing for six months

Posted: July 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Enzo Maccarinelli has been banned from boxing for six months after testing positive for a banned substance.

Today, the former light-heavyweight world champion gives his side of the story.

In a statement, the Welshman said: “Following my fight against Shane McPhilbin in March, I was extremely surprised and disturbed to have tested positive for a banned substance known as methylhexaneamine.

 “I purchased a product called Dexaprine that contained this banned substance from a combat magazine.  The advert stated that it was an approved substance and I checked the ingredients which had no reference to any banned substance that I was aware of. 

“In fact, it also stated that it was suitable for athletes.

 “I have since found out that this ‘fat burner’ contained a substance and consequently I failed a dope test, albeit with a very low reading.

I wish to state that this substance was in no way used to gain any advantage in the ring or enhance my performance and whilst I appreciate that it may look that way, I would certainly never cheat or cut corners in my preparation.

I have been tested over 20 times in my career and have never failed any random or post fight doping test, but on this occasion, due to my naivety, I have tested positive for a banned substance.

I was contacted by UK Anti-Doping (UKAD) and helped them with their investigations, where I gave them both the product that I had taken, the container and also the advert from which I ordered these supplements.

The explanation I gave which is reflected accurately in their formal decision is evidence that my intention was not to knowingly take a banned substance or to gain an unfair advantage in competition.

I am very conscious of my reputation within the sport of boxing and even prior to the decision I promised to fully accept any punishment that was given as a result of this positive test.”

 

Leave a Reply

