Martin Murray: “A fight between me and Billy Joe Saunders will be too early for him – and I will prove that”

Posted: July 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Undefeated Martin Murray admits he is looking for bigger and better fights than Billy Joe Saunders.

Talk among the boxing community is strong that the two middleweights will do battle by the end of the year after the British Board of Boxing ordered purse bids.

Saunders’ promoter Frank Warren is also ready to make a “big” announcement regarding Saunders.

But after already notching 24 wins, the latest against French champion Karim Achour last month, and holding world champion Felix Sturm to a draw in Germany last year, the 29-year-old feels he is due a second crack at a world title soon.

Saunders, 22, boasts an impressive record of 14 wins from 14 fights and is now Commonwealth king after stopping Tony Hill easily in April.

Murray

Big ambition: Martin Murray

told Lincboxing: “The board have ordered purse bids for me and Saunders, but I’m looking at bigger fights than him to be honest.

“My team know I will fight anyone though so as usual I will leave it all up to them to decide.

“I personally think it has come too early for him and if we do end up fighting, I will prove that.”

Leave a Reply

