Jody Meikle: “Ray Ginley is just another Irish boxer who thinks he is better than he really is.”

Posted: July 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

Charismatic Jody Meikle has begun the war of words with Ray Ginley ahead of their light-heavyweight showdown in Belfast tomorrow evening.

The Scunthorpe journeyman admits he is the overwhelming underdog when he does battle with the Northern Irish prospect, who has won two from two since his arrival on the professional scene.

But after landing in Northern Ireland, straigh-talking Meikle told Lincboxing: “Ray Ginley is just another one of these Irish boxers who thinks he is better than he really is.

“He has been about a bit in the amateur ranks but has just started the professional game. He is inexperienced and I hope to exploit that.

“He is the prospect and the favourite but this is boxing and I am capable of taking anyone on my day. I can’t wait for the fight.

“This is the first time I have fought in Belfast and I’m really excited. I normally have the crowd against me and it will be nothing I haven’t already seen.

“I don’t care about Ray Ginley or his fans – bring it on.”

Meikle, who has spent time in prison in the past, will enter the ring with a professional record of three wins and 23 defeats.

Straight talker: Jody Meikle

Leave a Reply

