Bradley Skeete says Chas Symonds’ style is made for him

Posted: July 21, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

BRADLEY “Super” Skeete believes his precision jabs and rangy shots will prove too much for Chas Symonds in their southern area title clash.

The build-up to their September 14 showdown at Wembley Arena began in earnest when Skeete blasted aside criticism that he did not possess knockout power by disposing of Ross Payne in just 117 seconds, in April.

Symonds has since claimed he would dispose of the Penge fighter inside eight rounds but those claims were opposed by the unbeaten Skeete (8-0).

“Chas has boxed at a higher level than me and knows his stuff,” the 24-year-old told LincBoxing.

“I am like the new guy on the block, but I’ve seen him fight and I truly believe his style is made for me.

“I’ve always had the speed and now I’ve got the power. I know what Chas will come to do, he’s going to try to walk me down but he’s going to walk onto everything I throw.

“In my last fight (against Payne) I wasn’t matched up against some journeymen who was there only to survive, it was an unbeaten fighter who was coming to win. I finished him inside a round.”

Skeete arrived back from holiday last Friday and was back in the gym inside two days, a dedication which is part of a considered game plan for success.

While others may baulk and being so patient, Skeete, and matchmaker Dean Powell, are plotting a cautious route to the top.

“It’s all about the right fights at the time,” said Skeete, whose collision with Symonds is on the undercard of George Groves v Kenny Anderson.

“I’ll never overlook titles like the southern area or the English title, they’re important to my development and I want to win them.

“I’m still young and learning, and certainly not in this game for the short-term. It’s a long-term process. When Dean told me about this fight, though, I could not get into the ring. It’ll be a great show with so many London boys on it.”

Leave a Reply

